Luigs Named to 2008 Rimington Trophy Watch List

by DRod70 on May 9, 2008

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. – Arkansas center Jonathan Luigs has been named to the watch list for the 2008 Rimington Trophy, an award presented annually to the nation’s top center. Luigs won the 2007 Rimington Trophy and is attempting to become the first player in the award’s history to earn the honor multiple times.

Luigs is one of 42 pre-season candidates for the award, including one of five candidates from the Southeastern Conference. Luigs was a first-team All-American in 2007 and became the first Razorback to win the nation’s top honor for centers. The Little Rock native is only the fourth Razorback to win a national individual award joining two-time Doak Walker Award winner Darren McFadden (2006, 2007) and Outland Trophy winners Bud Brooks (1954) and Loyd Phillips (1966). [read more]


Leave a Comment

Previous post:

Next post: