4 Hogs named to preseason All-SEC team

by muslimsdonteatme on July 18, 2009

Michael Smith, D.J. Williams, Malcolm Sheppard and Mitch Petrus of the Arkansas football team were named to the Southeastern Conference’s Coaches Pre-Season All-SEC teams as voted on by the league’s coaches.

Smith represented the Razorbacks on the first-team offense, while Williams was a second-team selection and Petrus was named to the third team. Sheppard was chosen for the second-team defense.

Smith is considered by many as the top running back in the SEC. He has played in 31 career games with nine starts, all of which came in 2008. Last year, he carried the ball 207 times for 1,072 yards and eight touchdowns. By doing so, he became the ninth player in school history to rush for more than 1,000 yards in a season. He had 509 rushing yards against Top 25 teams, which was the sixth-highest total by any running back in the nation. He also had 32 receptions for 298 yards and two touchdowns.

Williams has been called the best catch-passing tight end in the nation. In 2008, he was the first Mackey Award semifinalist in school history. He is the only 2008 award semifinalist returning to college football this year who led his team in receptions (61), receiving yards (723) and receiving touchdowns (3) a season ago. His 61 receptions as a sophomore ranked as the second-highest single-season total in school history and the most by a tight end. [read more]


Leave a Comment

Previous post:

Next post: