Welcome, stranger! Please log in or register. - Did you miss your activation email?

Author Topic: Advice on starting a new career?  (Read 9333 times)

Offline Too Big Pig

• King of the Hogs
Advice on starting a new career?
« on: August 20, 2007, 10:05:30 PM »
So, not the best place to post this, but thought I would throw this out here.

I am a teacher who has figured out he doesn't really like to teach.  I have always been successful and highly awarded in my field, but have always hidden the fact that I have disliked it from day one.

After 10 years (and a bachleor's and master's in education), I am desperate for a new career.  Any suggestions on where to start?  If I was single this would be a simple decision, but married with a child presents a whole new aspect.

"If life gives you lemons, fuck life."  - Sir John Michael of Oklahoma

Offline Filthy_McSwine

• Tush Hog
Re: Advice on starting a new career?
« Reply #1 on: August 21, 2007, 08:24:11 AM »
You've got balls as big as church bells to post a question like that here...

At any rate, what are you interested in?  My wife has looked into medical type stuff, like a radiology tech.  Something like that seems to offer a good compromise between the amount of school involved and starting salary.  You obviously don't have a problem with school, other than having to do it on the side.

Offline VerotiK

• Inventor of Kitten Mittens
  • Boar
  • All over your face
« Reply #2 on: August 21, 2007, 09:55:52 AM »
Try looking into the medical field.  People are always sick and dying. And they pay pretty good.  Even though your degree is in education, you should be able to get a job at most places anyway with a masters.

If your woman is hideous, well, maybe don't come talk to me.  --Cerdo 2011

Offline pigtacular

• Boar
  • I know, my behavior can be... *erratic* sometimes
« Reply #3 on: August 21, 2007, 11:16:35 AM »
I was in a similar situation as you.