Welcome, stranger! Please log in or register. - Did you miss your activation email?

Author Topic: Jake Bequette named Super Senior  (Read 821 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Rob

  • King of the Hogs
  • *****
  • Posts: 7567
Jake Bequette named Super Senior
« on: January 02, 2012, 09:12:01 AM »
Jake Bequette named Super Senior
January, 2, 2012
By Edward Aschoff
The readers have spoken, and Arkansas defensive end Jake Bequette was voted as our last SEC Super Senior.

With more than 6,400 votes cast in our Super Senior poll, Bequette came away with 39 percent of the vote.

Well done readers, I'm siding with you on this one. Bequette had another solid year for the Razorbacks, and he didn't even play the entire season. He wasn't always healthy, but despite playing in just nine games, Bequette ranked sixth in the SEC during the regular season in sacks, with eight.

When Bequette is on the field, Arkansas' defense is just that much better. He's the ultimate leader and wreaks havoc on opposing backfields. I'm still pretty certain the hit he put on South Carolina's Connor Shaw in early November triggered the tremor we felt in the press box at Razorback Stadium.

Coming in second was Alabama cornerback DeQuan Menzie. With players like Tyrann Mathieu, Morris Claiborne and Mark Barron in the league, Menzie was often overshadowed. Menzie was superb in coverage this season. He had just one interception, but defended 12 passes. He also was fifth on the team with 37 tackles.

Tennessee defensive tackle Malik Jackson was third, getting 18 percent of the vote. He might have been the Vols' best player in 2011. He was an excellent leader for Tennessee and also knew his way around the field. He was third on the team with 56 tackles and led the Vols with 11 tackles for loss and 2.5 sacks. He was also the leader in quarterback hurries, with 10.

Mississippi State running back Vick Ballard was fourth, gaining nine percent of the vote, and Florida running back Chris Rainey was last with seven percent of the vote.


Page created in 0.104 seconds with 36 queries.